19
Nov
07

Is there too much pressure to be “social” online??

Fellow CCT student and Pew Internet and American Life Project researcher Jessica blogs about the ramifications of increased use of social networking over on Pew’s blog site. Her post raises some interesting questions:

The growth of Web 2.0-related products and services has brought numerous new technologies to life on the internet, many aimed at integrating various aspects of our digital lives together. One of the most prolific, especially over the last year, has been social networking websites. Sites like MySpace and Facebook attract millions of members, and, as seen in Alexandra Rankin Macgill’s blog post on the Facebook-Microsoft financing deal, they are also becoming big business. Now Google, whose shares passed the $700 mark last week, has entered the field with the launch of OpenSocial Nov. 1. With the motto “Social Will Be Everywhere,” Google joins the ranks of innumerable companies in recent years stressing the many social possibilities the internet presents. I don’t know about you, but I feel the pressure to be “social” on the Web somewhat overwhelming, and I am someone who is fascinated by the topic.

1 Response to “Is there too much pressure to be “social” online??”


  1. 1 Bright Skies
    January 15, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I definitely think there are too many “social” pressures online. Once you make one of these pages, you’re expected to “re-connect” with old friends, and then, you have the added pressure of keeping up your page. I sometimes wonder if people just do it for fun, or if they re-connect with old “friends” just to show how well they’re doing today? There are a lot of people I’d love to say hi to, but that’s about it, so I avoid these sites. I’ve always been modest as well – I would feel like I was showing off if I displayed all that was going on in my life. Another thing is that they are much too public – even if it’s just your 100+ “friends” who can see your site, I don’t understand wanting to have everything so “out in the open.” There is a lot to be said for discretion, and I think those who practice it are quite wise and will live happier, less-stressful lives. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

