27
Jul
08

Gastronomical Nirvana?

Oh.

My.

God.

Check out this amazing new piece of American cuisine over on That Make Again List blog. Yes. That’s a Ham Dog.  What’s a Ham Dog, you say?

A ham dog is a hotdog that is wrapped in ground beef then deep fried. They then place it on a hoagie roll, top it with chilli, grilled onions, and a fried egg. (via supersized meals)

Oh, I know what you’re thinking.  You’re “too good” for a ham dog.  Only a “crazy” person would eat something like that.  I can just “hear your arteries clogging as I read this blog post.”

Well I’ll tell you what.  The Machine isn’t going to let a little thing like heart disease get in the way of sampling a new American tradition.  As soon as I’m able, I’m going to run (ok, drive) to Shoppers and pickup the ingredients to make one.  I’ll even post my photos to Flickr.  (I’ll tag my pics with “gastronomical nirvana” and “stool softener” if you want to find them).

If this is as good as it looks, I’ll wager that in 5 years, every main street festival in America will have a Ham Dog stand.  In fact, candidates running for every political office in the land will trip over themselves wanting to be photographed eating one.  Even Marc Summers over at The Food Channel will devote an entire episode of Unwrapped to how these are made.

Don’t be a food snob.  You know you want it.

2 Responses to “Gastronomical Nirvana?”


  1. July 27, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I cant believe the size of that thing. Looking forward to seeing the pictures of you eating it. Yummy though.

  2. July 28, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Well, guess I will get a sampling of husbands over my lifetime, if you eat that thing.


Leave a Reply

